Stiebel Eltron Air Source Heat Pump in North Nottinghamshire

Previous System: None

New System: Stiebel Eltron WPL17ACS Air Source Heat Pump 

This is our most recent Stiebel Eltron air source heat pump. We were approached by a local builder who was building a new home for himself and his family in Gamston, North Nottinghamshire.

He decided to proceed with an air source heat pump instead of the cheaper to buy, but more expensive to run, oil boiler and approached us to provide him with a quote. After consulting with us and discussing the range of works we are able to undertake, he decided to ask us to supply and install the air source heat pump, as well as all the plumbing and electrical works for the project. His own team completed the underfloor heating, along with the screed, while we supplied and installed the first floor radiators.

The Air Source Heat Pump

Once we had the plans for the project, we were able to begin work on the MCS approved system design for the heat pump to ensure that the entire system produces sufficient heat and hot water on even the coldest days. We selected the WPL17 Classic from the Stiebel Eltron range, as it perfectly fitted the properties requirements. In addition, the ACS model can provide cooling on those 2 or 3 days of summer we get each year!

As the project progressed we installed various sections of our contracted work including the first fix plumbing and electrical works, installation of the air source heat pump, hot water cylinder, buffer tank and hot water module, containing the pumps, controllers and expansion vessel.

One of the deciding factors for the client were the reduced running costs of the air source heat pump, compared to a fossil fuel heating system and the payback from Domestic Renewable Heat Incentive. The RHI provides a healthy return for those wishing to go down the heat pump route, usually paying for the system within the 7 year payback period. The government has confirmed it’s commitment to the Domestic RHI for both ground source and air source heat pumps.